Enlarge image

Duo Müller-Hohenstein and Cerne: No more gala appearances

Photo: Uwe Anspach / picture alliance / dpa

ZDF is relying on a new team of presenters for the broadcast of the "Sportsman of the Year" gala this year. On 17 December, Lena Kesting and Sven Voss will host the TV show from the Kurhaus in Baden-Baden. The new duo succeeds Katrin Müller-Hohenstein and Rudi Cerne, who most recently hosted the ZDF gala for several years.

Müller-Hohenstein and Cerne had led through the evening "for over fifteen years with bravura and grandeur," said ZDF sports director Yorck Polus. This year, we want to set some new accents.« The election itself will also be different this time: "The athletes were able to vote for a pre-selection for the first time, after which Germany's sports journalists cast their votes."

Sven Voss, 47, like Katrin Müller-Hohenstein, is part of the presentation team of »Das aktuelle Sportstudio«. His co-presenter Lena Kesting, born in Viersen in 1994, has been presenting the sports news on ZDF's "Morgenmagazin" since 2020. At the 2021 Olympic Games in Tokyo, she reported on the swimming competitions, and in 2022 in Beijing on the alpine ski races. Most recently, she worked for ZDF at the Women's World Cup and ski jumping competitions.

The election of the German Sportsmen and Sportswomen of the Year has been organised by the International Sports Correspondence (ISK) since 1947. Since 1967, a team of the year has also been awarded. After the election of sports journalists was merged with ARD's own sports gala in 1996, the event was initially broadcast by Das Erste, and in 1998 ZDF took over. Initially, Wolf-Dieter Poschmann moderated, from 2001 in a duet with Kristin Otto. From 2007 onwards, Katrin Müller-Hohenstein and Rudi Cerne led through the programme.

The Gala 2023 will initially be livestreamed on "Sportstudio.de" and in the media library on December 17 from 20 p.m. From 22:15 p.m., it will be shown on the main program of the public broadcaster.