Women's AFCON 2024: the twelve qualified countries are known

The qualifiers for the 2024 Women's AFCON ended on Tuesday, December 05 with the final round. We now know 11 teams that will travel to Morocco, the host country, for the 15th Women's AFCON. The defending champions South Africa are there, as well as DR Congo, who are back at the AFCON 24 years later.

The Algerian women's football team will be present at the next AFCON 2024 in Morocco. BackpagePix

By: Ndiasse Sambe Follow


Read More

There wasn't much suspense for the second legs of the final round of the Women's AFCON qualifiers. Several teams had already done the job, and few games were still undecided. Paradoxically, South Africa, the defending champions, were somewhat shaken after their draw (1-1) in the first leg against Burkina Faso. Banyana Banyana had to wait until the 56th minute of the second leg to take the lead from the penalty spot against the Burkinabè before securing qualification with a goal from Nicole Michael.

Semi-finalists in 2022, Nigeria and Zambia had almost booked their ticket in the first leg by beating Cape Verde (5-0) and Angola (6-0) respectively. The return leg was also quiet with the Zambians still unbeatable while the Nigerians had to settle for a small victory (2-1).

It was a formality for Mali after their 7-2 win over Guinea in the first leg. The Eagles once again dominated their opponents (3-0). Their Senegalese neighbours secured their qualification without forcing their qualification against Egypt (0-0) after an undisputed victory in the first leg (4-0).

The feat of the qualifiers is to be credited to DR Congo who will play their first AFCON since 1998. The Leopards struck hard by brushing aside two-time African champions Equatorial Guinea, whom they beat 2-1 after a 1-1 draw in the first leg.

The twelve qualified countries: Morocco (host country), South Africa, Algeria, Botswana, Ghana, Mali, DR Congo, Senegal, Tanzania, Tunisia, Zambia, Nigeria,

The results of the last elimination round. In parentheses, the score of the first leg

Namibia – Ghana: 1-0 (1-3)

Congo – Tunisia: 1-1 (2-5)

DR Congo – Equatorial Guinea: 2-1 (1-1)

Botswana – Kenya: 1-0 (1-1)

Egypt – Senegal: 0-0 (0-4)

Guinea – Mali: 0-3 (2-7)

Togo – Tanzania: 1-0 (0-3)

Zambia – Angola: 6-0 (6-0)

Cape Verde – Nigeria: 1-2 (0-5)

Africa - Burkina Faso 2-0 (1-1)

Burundi- Algeria 0-1 (1-5)

NewsletterGet all the latest international news straight to your inbox

Subscribe now

Keep up to date with all the latest international news by downloading the RFI app


Most read



Yacouba Sawadogo, "the man who stopped the desert", has passed away



Niger and Burkina Faso announce their withdrawal from the G5 Sahel



Israeli tanks enter southern Gaza Strip