This is reported by RIA Novosti.

An extraordinary congress of the Union of Theater Workers of Russia was held on Monday, December 4. It was used to select candidates for leadership positions.

Members of the Union nominated Alexander Lazarev, Kirill Krok, Valery Gergiev, Andrei Borisov and Vladimir Mashkov for the post of chairman. Due to the fact that everyone except Mashkov took self-withdrawals, he became the only candidate.

Earlier it became known that Valery Gergiev officially took office as director of the Bolshoi Theater.