The overall protection and living inheritance of historical and cultural cities, neighborhoods, villages and towns are gradually progressing. The Palace Museum has always regarded the construction of a "safe Forbidden City" as its most basic and primary task.

The nine major systems that promote the development of museums will consolidate the four beams and eight pillars of the protection and inheritance of the cultural heritage of the Forbidden City. The gradual transition from the position of a research institution to an "academic Palace Museum" is a new development that supports the Palace Museum's academic core.