Enlarge image

Franziska Preuß is a medal candidate at the World Championships in Nové Město na Moravě

Photo: Alexander Hassenstein / Getty Images

Biathlon World Cup 2024

The 54th Biathlon World Championships will be held in Nové Město na Moravě between February 7th and 18th. This is the second time the Czech city has hosted a World Cup since 2013. As was the case last year, the results will not be taken into account for the World Cup. A total of 36 medals will be awarded in twelve competitions.

The Schedule

Wednesday, February 7th (5:20 p.m.): 4x6 kilometer mixed relay

Friday, February 9th (5:20 p.m.): 7.5 kilometer sprint (women)

Saturday, February 10th (5:05 p.m.): 10 Kilometer sprint (men)

Sunday, February 11th (2:30 p.m.): 10 kilometer pursuit (women)

Sunday, February 11th (5:05 p.m.): 12.5 kilometer pursuit (men)

Tuesday, February 13th (17 :10 a.m.): 15 kilometers individual (women)

Wednesday, February 14th (5:20 p.m.): 20 kilometers individual (men)

Thursday, February 15th (6:00 p.m.): 4x3 kilometers + 1.5 kilometers single Mixed relay

Saturday, February 17th (1:45 p.m.): 4x6 kilometer relay (women)

Saturday, February 17th (4:30 p.m.): 4x7.5 kilometer relay (men)

Sunday, February 18th (2:15 p.m.). p.m.): 12.5 kilometer mass start (women)

Sunday, February 18th (4:30 p.m.): 15 kilometer mass start (men)

The Biathlon World Cup on TV

As usual, the World Cup in Nové Město na Moravě will be shown alternately on public broadcasters. Both ARD and ZDF also offer live streams on the Internet. Alternatively, you can also follow all competitions on Eurosport.

The favorites

The hopes of the German athletes rest primarily on

Franziska Preuß


Benedikt Doll

. The latter has already won two World Cup races this season despite Norwegian dominance, and Preuß has been on the podium several times. Other medal candidates are

Johannes Kühn


Vanessa Voigt


But despite the positive balance in the current World Cup season, the Norwegians are the clear favorites going into the competition. There are six Norwegians ahead in the overall ranking, but

Johannes Thingnes Bø

still has a big goal: with four more gold medals he would become the sole World Cup record winner, and his brother


, of all people, could get in his way. In the women's category,

Ingrid Landmark Tandrevold,

a Norwegian, is also leading in the World Cup, but overall the field is much more balanced. Athletes from six different nations are represented in the top 10.

World Cup record winner

World Cup record winners (men and women)

1. Ole Einar Bjørndalen (Norway), 20 gold, 14 silver, eleven bronze

2. Johannes Thingnes Bø (Norway), 17 gold, ten silver, four bronze

3. Martin Fourcade (France), 13- gold, ten silver, five bronze

4. Marte Olsbu Røiseland (Norway), 13 gold, four bronze

5. Emil Hegle Svendsen (Norway), twelve gold, six silver, three bronze

6. Magdalena Neuner (Germany)

, twelve times Gold, four silver, one bronze

7. Frank Luck (Germany)

, eleven gold, five silver, four bronze

8. Alexander Tikhonow (Soviet Union), eleven gold, four silver, one bronze

9. Tarjei Bø (Norway), eleven gold, four silver, eight bronze

10. Tiril Eckhoff (Norway), ten gold, two silver, three bronze

Record winners at a World Cup (men and women)

1. Johannes Thingnes Bø (Norway), five gold medals, including three in the individual; once silver, once bronze (2023 in Oberhof)


Laura Dahlmeier (Germany)

, five gold, including three in the individual; once silver (2017 in Hochfilzen)

3. Marte Olsbu Røiseland (Norway), five gold, including two in the individual; two silver (2020 in Antholz)

4. Tora Berger (Norway), four gold, two silver (2013 in Nové Mesto)

5. Tiril Eckhoff (Norway), four gold, one silver (2021 in Pokljuka)

6. Martin Fourcade (France ), four gold, one silver (2016 in Oslo)

7. Johannes Thingnes Bø (Norway), four times gold, one silver (2019 in Östersund)

8. Emil Hegle Svendsen (Norway), four times gold, one bronze (2013 in Nové Mesto )

9. Ole Einar Bjørndalen (Norway), four times gold (2009 in Pyeongchang)

9. Ole Einar Bjørndalen (Norway), four times gold (2005 in Hochfilzen)