Watch the crazy decision in the player above.

Team RXR with Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky and Johan Kristoffersson had the lead in the championship going into the final race on Sunday. They just needed to place themselves in front of Mattias Ekström and Laia Sanz.

That would prove to be easier said than done.

Shortly after the start, Kristoffersson almost overturned the car, which caused the steering to take a big hit. Then the team slipped in last place in the final, one lap behind the rest after a pit stop.

Up front, it looked good for Ekström and Sanz, but after the switch over to Sanz, it went to hell. The Spaniard lost control of the car, overturned and was forced to retire from the race. Instead, Åhlin-Kottulinsky was able to overtake in her sprained car.

"This is the slowest overtaking of all time," said the commentator.

"I'm just so happy"

Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky was able to guide the car across the finish line and secure her first Extreme E title, after last year's second place. Then the tears came in the driver's seat.

"It was an unbelievable battle all season, but now I'm completely speechless. I'm just so happy," she says in the victory interview.

Johan Kristoffersson, who is the most successful rallycross driver of all time, also won the Extreme E title in its first season, 2021. Last year, the duo finished second in the championship of Extreme E.