Zoom Image

Giulia Gwinn at Euro 2022


With the returnees Giulia Gwinn and Linda Dallmann, the German footballers are tackling their first international matches after the World Cup debacle. The Bayern duo are part of the 25-man squad for the Nations League opener in Denmark and against Iceland in Bochum (22 and 26 September) after recovering from injuries. The squad was nominated on Tuesday by assistant Britta Carlson in place of the ill national coach Martina Voss-Tecklenburg.

"Both are important for our team with their experience and as personalities," Carlson said of Gwinn (cruciate ligament rupture) and Dallmann (syndesmosis tear), who missed the World Cup in Australia and the historic preliminary round exit: "With the goal of getting off to the best possible start in the Nations League, we will prepare intensively for the tasks ahead with this strong squad."

Leupolz no longer with us

With vice-captain Svenja Huth (VfL Wolfsburg) taking a break due to the birth of her son last weekend, 21 World Cup riders will be on board for the start of the Olympic qualifiers. Sarai Linder (TSG Hoffenheim) and Janina (SC Freiburg) are back with the DFB team, Melanie Leupolz (FC Chelsea) announced her retirement from the national team on Monday.

The two remaining European tickets for the 2024 Summer Games in Paris will be played out via the newly created Nations League. The third opponent of the European runners-up is Wales (27 October).

The squad at a glance:

Gate: Ann-Katrin Berger (FC Chelsea), Merle Frohms (VfL Wolfsburg), Stina Johannes (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Defence: Sara Doorsoun, Sophia Kleinherne (both Eintracht Frankfurt), Giulia Gwinn (Bayern Munich), Marina Hegering, Kathrin Hendrich, Felicitas Rauch (all VfL Wolfsburg), Sarai Linder (TSG Hoffenheim), Sjoeke Nüsken (Chelsea)

Midfield/Attack: Nicole Anyomi, Laura Freigang (both Eintracht Frankfurt), Jule Brand, Chantal Hagel, Lena Lattwein, Lena Oberdorf, Alexandra Popp (all VfL Wolfsburg), Klara Bühl, Linda Dallmann, Sydney Lohmann, Lina Magull, Lea Schüller (all Bayern Munich), Sara Däbritz (Olympique Lyon), Janina (SC Freiburg)