Beyoncé took two awards during the pre-gala and was also awarded early during the main gala with the award for best r'n'b song for "Cuff it".

It was her 31st Grammy, and thus for an hour or so she shared the record with the Hungarian-British composer Georg Solti.

But it wasn't long before Beyoncé didn't have to share the throne.

With her winning best album in dance/electronic, history was written.

- Thanks so much.

I try not to be too emotional.

I'm just trying to take in this evening, said the moved artist, thanking God.

Davis an "EGOT"

The actor Viola Davis can now call herself EGOT, one of the few to have won an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony, since she was awarded in an audiobook category for her autobiography "Finding me".

Sweden was represented above all by Abba this year.

But the Swedish quartet did not receive a statuette.

Lizzo took the album of the year award for the single "About damn time" ahead of Abbas' "Don't shut me down", and the album and pop album of the year respectively went to Harry Styles for "Harry's house".

Abba were also snubbed for Best Pop Group or Duo by Sam Smith and Kim Petras for their 'Unholy'.

Petras said in her acceptance speech that she was the first trans woman to win in the category.

- I grew up next to a highway in nowhere, Germany.

And my mother believed me, that I was a girl.

And I wouldn't be here without her and her support, said Kim Petras in an emotional acceptance speech.

Lindgren praised

The saxophonist, clarinetist and flutist Magnus Lindgren received the award for best arrangement in an instrumental production for "Scrapple from the apple" with John Beasley and the SWR Big Band.

However, they were left without the award for Best Album for a Jazz Big Band, where they were also nominated.

R'n'b artist Snoh ​​Aalegra, nominated in the category of best traditional r'n'b, went without a prize.

The hard rock band Ghost from Linköping also won a statuette in the metal category for the song "Call me little sunshine".

Among the artists who performed during the gala are Stevie Wonder, Harry Styles, Kacey Musgraves and Lizzo.