The chairman of the film festival jury is South Korean Bong Joon-Ho, whose film "Parasite" took home the category of best film at last year's Oscars.

This year the jury consists of four women and three men.

Other members include American actress Cynthia Erivo and French actress Virginie Efira.

The success of "Nomadland" began at the Venice Festival last year, where it was awarded the Golden Lion.

After that, the film and director Chloé Zhao received a number of awards, including two Golden Globes and four British Bafta statuettes.