Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

From Game of Thrones to Chernobyl: Emmy Laureates Named in Los Angeles


On the night of August 22-23, Moscow time, the presentation of the main television prize in the United States, the Emmy Prime Time, took place. The ceremony honored shows that are broadcast in the hottest evening time. The main award - for the best drama series - received the "Game of Thrones." The ceremony was also remembered by the benefit of Phoebe Waller Bridge, creator of the comedy project "Rubbish", which was awarded immediately four prizes. Also among the winners are Peter Dinklage (Game of Thrones), Jody Comer (Killing Eve), John Oliver (Last Week's Events), and the creators of the Chernobyl mini-series.

On August 22, the 71st annual Emmy Prime Time US Television Award ceremony was held in Los Angeles. Among the nominees are shows that were broadcast over the past year (taking into account the fact that the award calendar is held from June 1 to May 31).

Major Awards and Outstanding Successes

The best dramatic prime time series was HBO's Game of Thrones. The tape also took the award in 2018, 2016 and 2015, while winning in other categories.

The main prize of the year was awarded by actor Michael Douglas, winner of Emmy 2013 for the best male role in a television movie or mini-series.

Another figurine in the piggy bank of the project was added by Peter Dinklage - as the best supporting actor in the drama series. In total, this year, “Game of Thrones” was presented in 32 nominations - this is an absolute record for the award.

In the category "Best Comedy Series" won the film "Rubbish", where Phoebe Waller Bridge acted as a screenwriter and performer of the main role - all aspects of her contribution, as well as directing the series, were awarded with prizes in individual nominations. Thus, the project earned four awards.

The best mini-series of the year was Chernobyl, which tells of the 1986 disaster. Johan Renck, who directed the filming process, received an Emmy for best directing in this category, and the scriptwriter Craig Meisin was awarded statuettes, who in his speech honored the memory of the liquidators of the accident. It is noteworthy that the series was the second in the number of nominations - in total, he claimed 19 awards.

  • The cast of "Game of Thrones" accepts the award for Outstanding Drama Series
  • Reuters
  • © Mike Blake

The best television movie of the year was Netflix's Black Mirror: Brandashmyg interactive tape.

In the Best Talk Show nomination, the HBO Last Week Tonight with John Oliver program won the Best Screenplay Award. The most outstanding sketch show was Saturday Night Live. The personal figurine for this project was taken by director Don Roy King.

Finally, the best reality was RuPaul's Drag Race. The host also received an award at the Emmy Awards for Technical Achievements (Creative Arts Awards), which took place on September 14-15.

Acting triumph

The prize for best actor in a comedy series was awarded by Bill Hader ("Barry"). A similar award in the field of drama was presented to Billy Porter, who played one of the main characters in the series "Pose." For the main role in the mini-series, Jarrel Jerome received the prize. The actor was involved in the film "When They See Us," dedicated to the racial issue in the United States in the late 1980s.

The best actresses in the drama and mini-series were Jodie Comer (Killing Eve) and Michelle Williams (Fossy / Verdon), respectively.

Many awards were received by actors who played in the serial comedy "The Amazing Mrs. Maisel": they got an Emmy for male and female supporting roles in the comedy series (Tony Shelub, Alex Borshtein), and earlier, at the Creative Arts Awards ceremony, the prizes were taken away by the invitees Jane Lynch and Luke Kirby

The best supporting actress in a drama series was Julia Garner (Ozark). Oscar winner Patricia Arquette took the award for the supporting role in the mini-series Pretense: she embodied the real personality of Dee Dee Blanchard, who treated her daughter for non-existent diseases.

The prize for Best Supporting Actor in a mini-series went to Ben Whishaw (“Extremely English Scandal”). Also, this work of the actor was awarded the Golden Globe in a similar nomination.

From the detail of the movie camera to the spirit of art

The Emmy Award is the largest television award in the world. It is comparable to the Oscars, as well as the Grammys (for musicians) and Tony (for achievements in theatrical art). For the first time the Emmy Award was presented in 1949, the ceremony is held annually.

The most famous Emmy is for prime time broadcasts. It is awarded by the American Television Academy. However, there are a number of other options.

So, since 1974, a daytime prize has been issued, there are also sports, technology, documentary news and regional awards (for the United States) - all of which are run by the American National Television Academy. Finally, a separate international Emmy (from the International Television Academy) is presented with programs from other countries. Each award is dedicated to a separate ceremony.

The Emmy figurine itself deserves special mention: it was originally called Immy - the so-called superorthicon (transmitting television tube with charge accumulation) camera detail was so informally called. The winged woman who holds the atom in her hands symbolizes cinema at the same time as art and science. It is interesting that the statuettes are cast by the same company that manufactures the Oscars and Golden Globes.

Source: russiart

You may like

Trends 24h

Life/Entertain 2020-01-26T20:25:16.348Z
Life/Entertain 2020-01-27T06:16:04.989Z
Life/Entertain 2020-01-27T07:34:10.752Z


life 2020/01/27    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy