• Coronavirus Breaking News

Spain will open its border to residents of 12 countries outside the EU from next midnight but only four of them allow citizens from Spain to enter its territory: Tunisia, Serbia, Montenegro and South Korea , although in In this case, everyone entering the country must keep a 14-day quarantine as a preventive measure against the coronavirus pandemic.

In contrast, Australia, Canada, Georgia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Thailand and Uruguay have their borders closed to foreigners with some exceptions. The twelfth member of this list, Japan, prevents non-Japanese from entering the last 14 days in a number of countries, including Spain.

Thus, it is stated in the travel recommendations prepared and published by the Spanish Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the different countries, compiled by Europa Press.

However, according to diplomatic sources, the Executive is in talks with these eight countries and trusts that reciprocity will gradually be applied and the borders will be opened to the Spanish and Europeans, especially considering that the EU is now one of the safer places from a health point of view.

In this way, the Spanish Government has only applied the reciprocity criterion to three of the 15 'safe countries' from the health point of view agreed by the Twenty-seven to reopen the external Schengen border closed by the coronavirus pandemic.

These are China , where the European recommendation itself already included reciprocity, and Algeria and Morocco, which are, according to government sources, the two countries on the list with which Spain has a significant volume of transit. Morocco has the border closed in principle until July 10, and has not yet announced what it will do next.

The decision regarding Algeria and Morocco has taken into account "both the current border closure that governs both countries, as well as the reasons that support it, as well as the considerable habitual volume of travel between each of them and Spain," says the ministerial order published this Friday in the BOE. The criteria to allow entry is residence in these countries, not nationality .

Border management is a strictly national competence, but Brussels, in an attempt to prevent a repetition of the lack of coordination in March, has sought a joint reopening , especially in order to maintain free movement within the Schengen area.

However, the position is not unanimous. Already in the text of the agreement, Slovenia said that it reserved the right to be more strict in its opening and Belgium notified that it had doubts about the credibility of the epidemiological data of any country. Italy, for its part, will impose quarantine on everyone who enters the country and Spain has decided to request

reciprocity also to Tunisia and Morocco.

More than 120 countries do not allow travel from Spain

Regarding the four countries on that list that do allow Spaniards to enter, the information published by the Foreign Ministry indicates that Serbia reopened its border on May 22 and Montenegro allows entry to EU residents from July 1. As for Tunisia, a classification of the countries in lists of 'colors' has been in force since June 27.

Spain is in the green, "low risk of transmission", so no test or quarantine is required, but a control is required, with temperature taking and a traceability form on arrival.

However, more than 120 countries continue to have their borders closed for travelers from Spain or do not have air or sea connections with Spain.

Australia has its border closed except for Australians, New Zealanders with habitual residence in Australia, permanent residents or relatives, and all must quarantine for 14 days upon arrival. Similarly, New Zealand only allows its nationals and residents to enter.

Uruguay has a closed border, Canada has just extended the closure until at least July 31 and only allows the entry of Americans. China has suspended the entry of foreigners and Japan prevents the entry of those from a list of countries.

Thailand has just opened its border to only a few categories of citizens such as relatives of Thais, residents, foreigners with work permits, diplomats, guests of the Thai Government or students who have been accepted by a university

In Europe, Georgia was planning to reopen its border on July 1, but has delayed it until at least the second half of the month and probably until August 1.

For its part, Rwanda has airspace closed and only allows nationals and residents to enter, who must be quarantined for seven days.

According to the criteria of The Trust Project

Know more

  • Coronavirus
  • Covid 19

Companies What will happen to the 20% of the premises that will be empty due to the closure of shops and businesses?

GovernmentAn elite unit of the Civil Guard protects the house of Pablo Iglesias and Irene Montero

LeadersWhy so many people hate Bill Gates: "The truth competes against really sexy lies"

See links of interest

  • Last News
  • Programming
  • English translator
  • Work calendar
  • Daily horoscope
  • Santander League Ranking
  • League calendar
  • TV Movies
  • Cut notes 2019
  • Themes
  • Sheffield United - Tottenham Hotspur
  • Eibar - Osasuna
  • Real Sociedad - Espanyol
  • Real Madrid - Getafe, live
  • Atlético de Madrid - Mallorca