Enlarge image

EU flags in Brussels


Arne Immanuel Bänsch/dpa

The EU imposes new sanctions on Russia on the second anniversary of the war in Ukraine. Representatives of the 27 member states agreed on Wednesday in Brussels to significantly expand the list of people and entities whose assets in the EU must be frozen.

EU Commission President Ursula von der Leyen wrote on the online service In addition, a total of around 2,000 people responsible for the war in Ukraine would then be on the European sanctions list. According to EU foreign policy chief Josep Borrell, almost 200 names will be added.

The 13th sanctions package is one of the EU's “most comprehensive” to date, the Belgian Presidency said after the fundamental agreement by the permanent representatives of the member states. The formal decision in the written procedure is therefore expected before the second anniversary of the Russian attack on Ukraine on Saturday.

The news agencies dpa and AFP unanimously reported, citing diplomatic information, that companies that contribute to Russia's military and technological strengthening or to the development of its defense and security sector should also be sanctioned. No more goods and technologies that can be used for military purposes can be sold to them from the EU. Among other things, European companies will be prohibited from trading with companies from mainland China that supply military-use goods to Russia.

The USA also wants to announce new punitive measures against Moscow on Friday over the death of Kremlin critic Alexei Navalny. In doing so, the United States would “hold Russia accountable for what happened to Mr. Navalny,” National Security Council spokesman John Kirby said on Tuesday. Federal Foreign Minister Annalena Baerbock (Greens) also announced sanctions in connection with Navalny's death on Monday at a meeting with her EU colleagues in Brussels.