The government announced today (12th) those eligible for the 8/15 special amnesty.

Economists such as Samsung Vice Chairman Lee Jae-yong and Lotte Chairman Shin Dong-bin were included in the amnesty, while politicians such as former President Lee Myung-bak and former Gyeongnam Governor Kim Kyung-soo were excluded from the amnesty.

Enlarging an image

Prior to the announcement of the amnesty, President Yoon Seok-yeol emphasized in a question-and-answer session on his way to work, that it was "a amnesty for people's livelihoods and economic recovery."

Due to the low approval ratings and negative public opinion on the amnesty, many predicted that politicians would be excluded from this amnesty.

Vice-Chairman Lee and Chairman Shin have been confirmed on charges of 'Gukjeong Nongdan'.

Vice Chairman Lee is currently on parole and his sentence expired on the 29th of last month. 

In particular, it is expected that this special lottery will enable Vice Chairman Lee to freely engage in overseas and business activities.