“This is truly a historic moment.

For Finland, for Sweden, for NATO and for our common security,” he is quoted on the NATO website.

The Permanent Representatives of the NATO countries signed the protocols on the accession of Finland and Sweden to the North Atlantic Alliance at the headquarters in the presence of the Foreign Ministers of Finland and Sweden, Pekka Haavisto and Ann Linde.