“The President of the Republic, Guillermo Lasso, declared a state of emergency in the provinces of Asuay, Imbabura, Sucumbios and Orellana for 30 days due to serious internal unrest,” TASS reports, citing a presidential decree published on the website of the government of the country.

The introduction of a state of emergency in Ecuador will allow the use of the police and the military to ensure unhindered traffic and uninterrupted fuel supplies.

On June 26, Ecuadorian President Lasso lifted the state of emergency, which was introduced in the country due to mass protests.