Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, who is visiting Germany, announced on June 27 local time that Canada will impose additional sanctions on Russia and Belarus.

  These new sanctions include restrictions on six individuals and 46 entities linked to the Russian defense sector; sanctions on entities controlled by senior Russian government officials; sanctions on 15 Ukrainians who support Russia; 13 in Belarus government and defence personnel and two entities to impose sanctions, among others.

  Canada will also take immediate additional steps to ban the export of certain advanced technologies that could enhance Russia's domestic defense manufacturing capabilities, including quantum computers and advanced manufacturing equipment, related components, materials, software and technology.

The export of advanced technologies and goods that can be used in the manufacture of weapons to Belarus is prohibited, as well as the import and export of various luxury goods between Canada and Belarus.

  In coordination with the U.S., U.K. and Japan, Canada will ban the import of certain gold commodities from Russia, excluding those commodities from official international markets and further isolating Russia from international markets and the financial system.

  Since February 24, Canada has imposed sanctions on more than 1,070 individuals and entities from Russia, Ukraine and Belarus.

(Headquarters reporter Zhang Sen)