China News Agency, United Nations, June 9 (Reporter Wang Fan) On the 9th local time, the 76th United Nations General Assembly held a plenary session. The member states voted to elect Japan, Mozambique, Switzerland, Malta and Ecuador as non-permanent members of the Security Council. The term of office is two years from January 1, 2023.

  According to the principle of regional rotation, the seats to be elected on the same day are 1 seat in Asia-Pacific, 1 seat in Africa, 2 seats in Western Europe and other countries, and 1 seat in Latin America and the Caribbean.

The candidate countries in each regional group have no competitors.

In the end, Japan, Mozambique, Switzerland, Malta, and Ecuador were successfully elected with more than two-thirds of the votes of the UN General Assembly.

This is the first time that Mozambique and Switzerland have become non-permanent members of the Security Council.

  The five countries elected this time will replace India, Kenya, Ireland, Norway and Mexico from January 1, 2023.

The other five non-permanent members currently in the Security Council are the United Arab Emirates, Ghana, Gabon, Brazil and Albania, with a mandate until the end of 2023.

  The United Nations Security Council consists of 15 members, in addition to the five permanent members of China, the United States, Russia, the United Kingdom and France, there are 10 non-permanent members.

The term of non-permanent members is two years, and five seats are replaced by elections each year, and they cannot be re-elected.

The 15 members of the Security Council will rotate as chairs for a period of one month.