On May 16, local time, the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) summit was held in Moscow, Russia.

Leaders at the meeting mainly discussed issues such as mutual cooperation under the framework of the CSTO, international and regional hotspots, and further improvement of the collective security system.

  The summit was held on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the signing of the Collective Security Treaty and the 20th anniversary of the CSTO.

The CSTO was established in May 2002 and evolved from the CIS Collective Security Treaty signed in 1992.

There are currently 6 member states: Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan.

(produced by Lu Huiqian)

Responsible editor: [Liu Xian]