In China, the neighboring countries of Afghanistan are concerned about the plans of the Islamic State group

Meeting in China of foreign ministers of countries neighboring Afghanistan, March 30, 2022. AP

Text by: RFI Follow

1 min

The diplomats of the seven neighboring countries of Afghanistan met for the second consecutive day in China to discuss the future of the country passed under Taliban control.

Among them, Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov.

The latter expressed particular concern about the plans of the Islamic State organization to destabilize Central Asia as far as Russia.


Read more

The Islamic State organization is trying in particular to take advantage of the ethnic divisions aggravated by the arrival of the Taliban in power to increase their influence in the region.

They thus launched a major communication campaign presenting the Taliban as a force of Pashtun domination rather than as an authentic Islamic movement.

The IS therefore turns particularly to the Uzbek, Tajik and Kyrgyz minorities by publishing books and videos in the different languages.

The Islamic State in Khorasan is particularly active in the north of the country, which is mainly populated by Uzbeks and Tajiks, two ethnic groups excluded from the Taliban government.  

Five attacks

Since the fall of Kabul to the latter, the Islamic State organization has claimed responsibility for five attacks in the Kunduz region, bordering Tajikistan.

The neighboring country is also concerned about IS activities on its territory, as are many of the governments in the region.

In Pakistan, the Islamic State in Khorasan notably claimed responsibility at the beginning of the month for the suicide attack against a mosque in Peshawar which left 63 dead and 200 injured, a symbol of the return of the terrorist group to the country. 

To read also:

Pakistan: dozens dead in a suicide attack in a mosque in Peshawar


Receive all the international news directly in your mailbox

I subscribe

Follow all the international news by downloading the RFI application


  • Afghanistan

  • Taliban

  • Tajikistan

  • Kyrgyzstan

  • Uzbekistan

  • Pakistan