“The Commission of the Ministry of Health on the classification of countries with a risk of infection with coronavirus recommended that the Israeli government declare the following countries“ red ”: Italy, USA, Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Morocco, Portugal, Canada, Switzerland and Turkey.

They will be recognized as "red" from midnight on December 22, subject to approval by the Knesset Commission on Legislation, "the Israeli Foreign Ministry quoted TASS as saying.

It is noted that this proposal was discussed at a weekly meeting of the cabinet of ministers.

On December 15, the Israeli Ministry of Health added seven states to the 50 countries in Africa, Great Britain and Denmark already on the list of "red" countries for the spread of coronavirus: Ireland, Spain, Norway, Finland, France, Sweden and the United Arab Emirates. 

Earlier, the Israeli authorities extended the ban on the entry of foreigners until December 29 and maintained restrictions on exit due to the spread of the omicron strain of the coronavirus.