Stuttgart (dpa / lsw) - With the district of Karlsruhe and the district of Lörrach, two districts received the award of bicycle-friendly municipality for their promotion of cycling routes this year.

There are now eleven bicycle-friendly municipalities - eight cities and three districts - in the state, said Transport Minister Winfried Hermann (Greens) in a message on Monday in Stuttgart.

Cities, municipalities and districts have been awarded this certificate since 2011.

So far, the cities of Freiburg, Karlsruhe, Offenburg, Heidelberg, Kirchheim unter Teck, Lörrach, Mannheim and Heilbronn as well as the district of Göppingen have received the award.

According to Hermann, the Karlsruhe district has set out to increase the proportion of cycling from 10 percent (2010) to 25 percent by 2030.

The district of Lörrach is particularly committed to upgrading the state's cycling infrastructure and the supplementary district's own network.


© dpa-infocom, dpa: 210405-99-88936 / 3

Active mobile