The Mo Ibrahim Prize awarded to Nigerien President Mahamadou Issoufou

Mahamadou Issoufou, President of Niger.


Text by: RFI Follow

2 min

This is RFI information.

The Mo Ibrahim Prize, supposed to recognize leadership excellence in Africa each year, had not been awarded for four years.


Read more

According to the committee which awards the prize, the head of state of Niger, Mahamadou Issoufou, has distinguished himself by his efforts to improve the economic development of his country, while working for regional stability.

But it was above all his decision not to run for a third term that also distinguished him, explained Aicha Bah Diallo, one of the members and former Minister of Education in Guinea.


We chose him because he meets the criteria.

He was democratically elected in 2011. He was democratically re-elected in 2016, and in 2020 he stepped down, in accordance with the Constitution of Niger.

It gave us the opportunity to finally experience, in Niger, after 60 years, a democratic transition



He left power after two terms, but many accuse him of having done so at the end of a process on his main rival Hama Hamadou, who was excluded from the electoral competition.

Doesn't that tarnish his image?

It's not President Issoufou's fault,"

answers Aicha Bah Diallo.

He has already served his two terms.

He behaved very well, he respected the constitutional rule.

Look at the criteria on which we used to do our analysis.


The Mo Ibrahim Prize was awarded in 2017 to President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia (2017), President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia (2014), President Pedro Pires of Cabo Verde (2011), President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008 ) and President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007).

President Nelson Mandela was named the first honorary recipient in 2007.


Receive all international news directly in your mailbox

I subscribe

Follow all the international news by downloading the RFI application


  • Niger

  • Mahamadou Issoufou