Yoshihide Suga, the new president of the Liberal Democratic Party, who is proclaiming the succession of the Abe regime, was elected as Japan's new prime minister today (16th).

It has been 7 years and 8 months since December 2012, when the second Abe regime was inaugurated, for the Prime Minister to change in Japan, which adopted the parliamentary cabinet system.

The House of Representatives, who is a member of the Japanese House of Representatives, elected Suga, who gained majority support, as the 99th Prime Minister in a plenary session this afternoon after the Abe cabinet's total resignation.

In the subsequent election for the House of Councilors, the ruling party of the two coalitions of Jamin and Gongmyeong occupied a majority of seats, making Suga's nomination as prime minister clear.

Article 67 of the Japanese Constitution requires that the next Prime Minister be nominated by the election of the National Assembly when the Cabinet resigns.

As Prime Minister Abe expressed his appreciation on the 28th of last month for a chronic illness, Abe's cabinet held an extraordinary cabinet meeting this morning and resigned.

After the election for the National Assembly nomination, the new Prime Minister Suga holds a meeting with the ruling party leader, Natsuo Yamaguchi, the party leader, and announces a list of the new cabinet members through the Secretary of State.

(Photo = Getty Image Korea)