▲ President Moon Jae-in visits Gurye, Jeollanam-do, damaged by heavy rain

The Blue House said that President Moon Jae-in approved the declaration of a second special disaster area for rapid damage recovery and recovery support in the southern regions that were severely damaged by the torrential rain today (13th) around 3 pm.

The Blue House revealed that there are 11 local governments including Namwon-si, Jeollabuk-do, Gurye, Gokseong, Damyang, Hwasun, Hampyeong, Yeonggwang, Jangseong-gun and Naju-si, Hadong, Gyeongnam, and Hapcheon-gun.

As a result, a total of 18 local governments, including 7 in the 1st and 11 in the 2nd round, have been declared as special disaster zones due to this torrential rain.

In particular, the Blue House explained that the second proclamation was made immediately after the local government's proposal for the declaration of a special disaster area by conducting an emergency preliminary damage investigation by the Ministry of Public Administration and Security to determine whether it exceeded the declaration standards.

In the future, the government added that the government plans to promptly declare additional areas for areas where it is uncertain whether or not to meet the declared areas for special disaster areas through damage investigations based on Eup, Myeon-dong, etc.

(Photo = Yonhap News)