Nuclear Weapons Treaty ratified by 3 new countries 7 countries until treaty enters into force August 7, 5:31 am

Three years have ratified the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons on the 6th, 75 years after the atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima, and there are only seven countries until the treaty comes into effect.

The Nuclear Weapons Convention totally bans nuclear weapons from their development to their use as weapons that violate the principles of international humanitarian law, and was adopted by the United Nations three years ago.

75 years after the atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima, on the 6th, at the United Nations, three countries, Ireland, Nigeria, and Niue in the Pacific, have deposited ratification documents, and the ratification of 50 countries necessary for the entry into force has only reached seven. Has become a country.

"The competition between nuclear-weapon states has raised the risk of misuse of nuclear weapons to unacceptable levels," said UN Deputy Ambassador Flynn of Ireland. Should be directed to the health and welfare of the people." He emphasized the urgency of nuclear abolition.

In addition, Secretary General Beatrice Finn of the International Campaign for the Abolition of Nuclear Weapons, ICAN, who received the Nobel Peace Prize for contributing to the adoption of the treaty, told NHK interview that "50 countries will ratify within the year. He said, "he said, and said that he would further encourage countries to get the treaty into effect as soon as possible.

The United Nations would like to increase the momentum of nuclear disarmament, which is stagnant, through the early establishment of the treaty and the review meeting of the NPT = Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty scheduled for next year.