“Today, the European Commission has invited the Schengen member states and associated countries to extend the time limit on non-essential trips to the EU until May 15,” TASS quoted the statement as saying.

Earlier, European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen stated that the European Union intends to collect “a € 15 billion foreign aid package to fight coronavirus worldwide”.