Los Angeles (AFP)

Former World No. 1 Tiger Woods, captain of the United States team for the Presidents Cup, was selected Thursday to compete in this test that opposes every two years the best golfers US and international, excluding European .

Among the four choices of the 43-year-old American captain, besides himself, are Tony Finau, Patrick Reed and Garry Woodland.

Woods, who won the Zozo Championship at the end of October, his 82nd PGA Tour title, is expected to be the first captain to play a game since American Hale Irwin, captain at the first edition of the competition in 1994.

The rest of the squad's 12-man squad includes Brooks Koepka, Dustin Johnson, Justin Thomas and Bryson DeChambeau, all of whom competed in the last Ryder Cup, lost to France against Europe in September 2018. .

The 2019 edition of the Presidents Cup will be held December 12-15 at the Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Australia.

© 2019 AFP