The Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 goes to James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz. The former does important theoretical work on physical cosmology and Mayor and Queloz have discovered an exoplanet around a sun-like star.

This is the first exoplanet that was discovered outside of our solar system.

Mayor and Queloz announced their groundbreaking research in 1995 and then caused a "revolution" in the astronomical world that led to the discovery of many thousands of exoplanets.

Peebles is praised by the Nobel Committee for his work on models of the origin of the universe. "His theoretical frameworks are now the basis for our contemporary views on the universe."

Peebles receives one half of the physics prize, Mayor and Queloz share the other half. A total amount of more than 825,000 euros is awarded.

Last year, the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics went to Arthur Ashkin, GĂ©rard Mourou and Donna Strickland for their research in the field of laser physics. Strickland was the third woman ever to receive the Nobel Prize in Physics.