Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

11 points explain the highlights of the transitional documents in Sudan


Following the signing of the constitutional and political documents by the junta and the forces of freedom and change, attention is now turning to the transitional period, which the Sudanese eagerly accept and hope for solving many of their political and economic problems.

The two documents, which were finally signed this evening, establish a transition and a transition to civilian institutions.

The highlights of the transition documents are as follows:

1. The Sudanese Sovereignty Council shall be composed of 11 members, five military personnel selected by the military council, five civilians selected by the forces of the Declaration of Freedom and Change, and a national figure chosen by consensus.

2. The transitional period is limited to three years and three months. Decisions of the Sovereignty Council shall be made by consensus or by a two-thirds majority of its members.

3. A military member shall preside over the Council of Sovereignty for twenty-one months, while a civilian member shall preside over the Council for the remaining eighteen months.

4. The Declaration of Freedom and Change shall select the Prime Minister of the Civil Government.

5. The Council of Ministers shall consist of a Prime Minister and not more than twenty independent national competencies, to be selected by the Prime Minister from the list of candidates for the Declaration of Freedom, before being approved by the Council of Sovereignty.

6. Except for the Ministers of Defense and the Interior, selected by the military members.

7. During the transitional period, a person who holds a position in the Council of Sovereignty, Ministers, State Governors or Governors of the Territory shall not stand for election in the elections immediately following the transitional period.

8. The Transitional Legislative Council shall be formed not later than ninety days after the establishment of the Sovereignty Council. Until its formation, the Sovereign and Ministers Council exercises legislative powers.

9 - The forces of the Declaration of Freedom adhere to 67% of the membership of the Legislative Council, and 33% to other forces that are not signatories to the Declaration of Freedom Forces.

10. An independent national commission of inquiry shall be established to conduct an investigation into the bloody events and crimes committed on the third of last June, among others.

11. The Parties agreed that the Republic of the Sudan should be a decentralized State and that the geographical division and distribution of powers between levels of government be reviewed.

Source: aljazeera

You may like

News/Politics 2019-08-21T20:13:59.082Z

Trends 24h

News/Politics 2020-01-23T08:10:08.643Z
News/Politics 2020-01-23T11:07:37.233Z


news 2020/01/23    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy