Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

C1 ladies: Lyon and PSG find the European arena


C1 ladies: Lyon and PSG find the European arena

Paris (AFP)

The Lyonnaises, quadruple holders of the title, and Paris SG will know, Friday during the draw in Nyon, their opponent in the last 16 of the Champions League, where they still hope to shine.

The best teams of the continent start their course with knockout matches, not a phase of pools like their male counterparts, which leaves them little room for maneuver in a competition increasingly high.

But OL has kept many assets for the upcoming edition, with an identical frame, between his Golden Ball Ada Hegerberg, and his Blue Wendie Renard and Eugenie Le Sommer. It remains to be seen whether the transplant will take with the new coach Jean-Luc Vasseur, who succeeded Reynald Pedros this summer.

In the capital, Olivier Echouafni remained in charge of a revanchist team, which missed the semi-finals last season for a few minutes. With his attackers Kadidiatou Diani and Marie-Antoinette Katoto, PSG has everything of the underdog.

Lyonnaise as Parisiennes in the hat 1, they will avoid for their entry in the lists of other favorites, Wolfsburg, Barça, Manchester City or Bayern.

But big fish sail the second pot, including Juventus Turin, new player in women's football (women's section created in 2017) and winner of the last two Championships in Italy. Also beware of Arsenal, the only English team to win the Champions League in 2007.

The round of 32 will be held on 11-12 (out) and September 25-26 (return). Vienna, Austria, will host the final on May 24th.

Composition of the pots

Pot N.1: Lyon, Paris SG, Wolfsburg (GER), FC Barcelona (ESP), Bayern Munich (GER), Slavia Prague (CZE), Manchester City (ENG), Brondby (DEN), Fortuna Hjorring (DEN), FC Zurich (SUI), Glasgow City (SCO), Atletico Madrid (ESP), Sparta Prague (CZE), BIIK Kazygurt (KAZ), FC Twente (NED), Fiorentina (ITA)

Pot N.2: St. Pölten (AUT), Arsenal (ENG), Pitea (SWE), Göteborg (SWE), Juventus (ITA), Ryazan (RUS), Lugano (SUI), Chheranovo Moscow (RUS), Braga ( POR), Breidablik (ISL), Mitrovica (BIH), Hibernian (SCO), FC Minsk (BLR), Spartak Subotica (SRB), Anderlecht (BEL), Vllaznia (ALB)

© 2019 AFP

Source: france24

You may like

News/Politics 2019-08-16T05:43:12.290Z
News/Politics 2019-08-29T18:14:21.114Z

Trends 24h


news 2020/01/26    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy