The Premier League Darts will get a completely new format next season.

The prize money of the tournament has been increased to 1.2 million euros.

During the sixteen rounds of play, the eight participants will always play a mini-tournament.

After four quarter-finals, two semi-finals and one final, the winner will receive 12,000 euros.

In addition, the winner will receive five points for the ranking.

The losing finalist receives three and the semifinalists two.

Previously, darts players played one game per round and received points for victories or a draw.

"The Premier League is undergoing the most radical change in its history," writes darts association PDC.

In 2005 the first edition of the competition was played.

Michael van Gerwen has already won the competition five times and is probably the only Dutch participant this year.

One round will be played on Dutch soil: on March 24 in Rotterdam.