Michael van Gerwen conquered the shared lead in the Premier League Darts on Thursday.

De Brabander won during the eleventh round in Milton Keynes, England, without convincing with 8-5 against Jonny Clayton.

Van Gerwen only ran into problems in the opening phase.

He was broken at 1-1, but immediately broke back with a nice 117 finish.

He then lost a break lead himself (from 4-2 to 4-4), but immediately hit another hole (7-4) and never let it go.

The number three in the world did not record a great average with 95.83 points.

On Wednesday he made a crushing impression with an average of 109.96 in his 8-3 victory over Dimitri Van den Bergh.

Van Gerwen took revenge on Clayton.

He lost no chance during the ninth round of play 3-7 to the Welshman, who also hurt him earlier this year in, among other things, the second round at The Masters.

It's just got even tighter at the top ... Three players all tied on 15 points, with just six legs separating them. Jose De Sousa's draw also puts him into the top four on leg difference!


Avatar Author OfficialPDC Moment of posting 21: 31 - 6 May 2021

Van Gerwen alone through leg balance behind Aspinall

Due to Thursday's victory, Van Gerwen tied in points with leader Nathan Aspinall, who still has a better leg balance.

The Englishman lost 6-8 against Van den Bergh, who, like Aspinall and Van Gerwen, is on fifteen points.

Aspinall, Van Gerwen and Van den Bergh have hit a three-point gap with shared numbers four Clayton and José de Sousa, who had to settle for a 7-7 draw against James Wade.

At the bottom, Gary Anderson was 8-3 too strong for Peter Wright.

The top four qualify for the play-offs on May 28.

Until then, there are five more regular rounds on the schedule.

On Friday, there will be played without an audience and a thousand fans are welcome every day during the last four rounds from 24 May.

The remainder will be completely finished in Milton Keynes.

Van Gerwen is chasing his sixth title in the Premier League, equaling the record of darts legend Phil Taylor. He won the trophy in 2013 and from 2016 to 2019, but did not make the play-offs for the first time in his career last year.