Facebook is introducing a new feature that makes it easier for users to delete multiple old messages at once, the company announced on its website Tuesday.

The feature is called Manage Activity and allows users to archive or delete older messages more easily. Only the user can view archived messages.

Deleted messages remain in the trash for another 30 days. If they are not restored within that period, they will be permanently deleted. This gives the user another chance to change his mind, Facebook writes.

With the function it is possible to delete multiple messages at the same time. Filters can also be used for specific periods or for displaying messages from certain people.

Manage activity will be rolled out from Tuesday. Not everyone will be able to use the function immediately. For the time being, the function only works in the Facebook app and therefore not yet in the desktop version.

That's how you find Manage Activity

  • Open the Facebook app
  • Go to your profile
  • Tap the three dots next to 'Add story'
  • Choose 'Activity log'
  • At the top, tap 'Manage Activity'