As noted, they will receive a prize for the development of lithium-ion batteries.

The 2019 #Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.”

- The Nobel Prize (@NobelPrize) October 9, 2019

Previously, James Peebles, Michelle Major, and Didier Kelozstal became Nobel laureates in physics for their work in astronomy and astrophysics.

The award ceremony will traditionally be held on December 10, the day of the death of the Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel.