As a result of the invasion of Ukraine in February 2022, the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) took the decision to port Russia and Belarus from all international competitions. At the time, it was announced that the suspension was in effect until further notice.

It is now clear that the countries will be banned from playing next season as well. This means that the countries will not be allowed to participate in the Ice Hockey World Championships next year either.

The IIHF Board of Directors writes in a press release that the decision is based on the assessment that it is not safe to allow Russia and Belarus to participate internationally.

"It is a good and important decision that Russia and Belarus will not be allowed to participate in international championships next season either. A decision that we in Swedish ice hockey stand behind and see as absolutely necessary in the current situation", says Anders Larsson, chairman of the Swedish Ice Hockey Association and board member of the IIHF, in a comment on the association's website.