It is great to see that the WNBA is finally getting the attention it deserves and slowly but surely becoming a top-level competition where big WNBA franchises compete for the ultimate trophy. 

Even though the WNBA doesn’t have as rich history as NBA since it had a slow start, it has grown into a fun-to-watch competition that broadens the world of basketball. The WNBA officially launched with eight NBA teams in June 1997. Since then, the entire WNBA competition has grown sifted several times including ownership outside of the NBA.

At one point, the WNBA expanded to 15 teams but quickly showed that that is too much for the competition and they have reduced the teams to 12 since 2010.

This got us wondering: which are some of the most successful teams in the WNBA odds that managed to build one of the most successful players accumulating most of the trophies in the league?

Seattle Storm

Some people might argue that the Seattle Storm's success heavily depends on luck, but there is no denying that they are one of the most successful teams in the WNBA winning four championships. The Seattle Storm was originally formed in 2000, and four years down the line they became the WNBA champions.

In the past two decades, we’ve seen many impressive players coming out of Seattle Storms such as Breanna Steward, and Lauren Jackson, which were crowned WNBA MVP three times. Other impressive players include Jewell Loyd, Alysha Clark, Swin Cash, Betty Lennox, Tanisha Wright, and many more.

The highest point in the history of the Seattle Storm was winning the 2020 championship during a pandemic-shortened season, as they were tied with the Minnesota Lynx and Houston Comets.

Minnesota Lynx

This was one of the first teams ever to join the WNBA that is still running quite successfully. Just like the Seattle Storm, they also have four championship trophies in their collection and a regular season record of 413-340.

Some of the most popular players from the Minnesota Lynx are Maya Moore, which was the MVP in 2014, and Sylvia Fowles, which was MVP in 2017 with several career stats records in rebounding, and field goal percentage.

Minnesota Lynx was included in the league’s second expansion. In the decade, the Minnesota Lynx weren’t on the same level they are now. However, in 2010 everything changed after Cheryl Reeve took the team forward as a head coach and made some changes that made them one of the best teams in the WNBA.

Los Angeles Sparks

Even though the Sparks have only three titles behind their name, there is no doubt that they are one of the best teams in the WNBA. In order to prove their greatness, let’s take a look at some of the WNBA MVPs that were crowned over the years. 

Throughout the years, the Sparks team was proven to be one of the best performing teams, which is why they acquired six MVP awards in the WNBA. Nneka Ogwumike got the 2016 MVP, then Candance Parker got the MVP in 2008 and 2013, and Lisa Leslie got 2001, 2004, and 2006 MVP awards.  

The highest point for the Los Angeles Sparks was winning Game 5 of the 2016 WNBA Finals against the Minnesota Lynx, which was their third WNBA title. On top of that, the Sparks are one of the eight original teams that first constructed the WNBA league and the two most successful remaining teams including Phoenix. 

Despite a lot of changes in their organization and ownership throughout the years, they have managed to stay consistent and always compete for the highest position on the table, according to the odds that you can find on Bovada’s Facebook.

Phoenix Mercury

As we mentioned before, Phoenix Mercury was also one of the original eight teams at the beginning of the WNBA and still proves to be a dominant force in the league. They have 15 playoff appearances and managed to win the championships on three occasions (2007, 2009, 2014).

Even though their seasonal record isn’t that impressive compared to other teams reaching only 422-390, their consistency is proved to be key to success.

Some of the biggest stars that come from the WNBA are Diana Taurasi, who also managed to win the MVP award in 2009, and is a current leader in points, field goals, and 3-point field goals. Other impressive players are DeWanna Bonner, Candice Dupree, Tangela Smith, Penny Taylor, and others.

Their highest point was reaching a 29-5 regular season record, plus a 7-1 playoff mark in their 2014 championship season.

Huston Comets

Here we have another WNBA franchise with four championship trophies behind their name. Ever since the WNBA was formed, the Huston Comets managed to storm the league winning four consecutive titles in the first four years of this professional competition.

Even though in the past two decades they haven’t been able to win a championship, they are still a dominant force in the WNBA. They got four Hall of Fame Players on their team including Sheryl Swoopers, Janeth Arcain, Tina Thompson, and Swoopers. 

We just hope that they will push forward and manage to get back to their former glory days.