Last hope of winning a sesame for the next Rugby World Cup.

Eight teams from the African continent will scrap, from Friday until July 10 in Marseille and Aix-en-Provence, with a single qualifying ticket for the 2023 Rugby World Cup in France at stake.

The "Rugby Africa Cup 2022", organized in the form of knockout matches, will see Namibia, 24th nation in the world and big favorite of the event, face off against Kenya, Uganda, Senegal, Côte d'Ivoire , Burkina Faso, Zimbabwe and Algeria.

The winner transferred to pool A

At the end of this competition, its winner, known as "Africa 1", will be placed in pool A of the World Cup-2023 (September 8 - October 21) alongside New Zealand, triple world champion, France, country -host, Italy and Uruguay.

In the quarter-finals on July 1 at the Pierre-Delort stadium in Marseille, Namibia, which has participated six times in the World Cup (1999, 2003, 2007, 2011, 2015 and 2019), will face Burkina Faso, 91st nation in the world.

The other match will oppose Zimbabwe to Côte d'Ivoire.

The following day, at Maurice-David in Aix, Senegal will play against Algeria and Uganda will face Kenya.

None of these four teams has ever participated in the World Cup.

On July 6, the two winners of the quarterfinals in Marseille will face each other in the semi-finals in Aix-en-Provence, while the victorious teams of the quarterfinals from Aix will travel to Marseille.

Finally, the Maurice-David stadium will host the final on July 10.


Top 14: Cameron Woki should leave UBB for Racing 92 this season


Japan – France: Les Bleus with a Lucu-Jalibert hinge and two rookies

  • Sport

  • Rugby

  • Rugby World Cup

  • Africa

  • Marseilles

  • Aix en Provence

  • Paca