Dylan Groenewegen just failed to win the Championship of Flanders for the second time in his career on Friday.

The Amsterdammer was beaten in the bunch sprint by the Belgian Jasper Philipsen.

Groenewegen had to tolerate a wheel length for Philipsen, who also won two stages in the Vuelta a España last month.

Estonian Martin Laas crossed the finish line in third place.

The Dutchman Wessel Krul, of the continental team SEG Racing Academy, was surprisingly seventh.

Fabio Jakobsen was also at the start in the Belgian one-day race, but he could not play a significant role in the bunch sprint.

De Gelderlander, who won three more stages and the points classification in the Vuelta, finished outside the top ten.

Groenewegen did win the Championship of Flanders in 2018.

Two years ago, the Jumbo-Visma sprinter finished third, behind German winner Jannik Steimle and his compatriot and teammate Timo Roosen.

In the more than 195 kilometers long race with start and finish in Koolskamp, ​​a group of seven riders, including the Dutch Corné van Kessel and Jan-Willem van Schip, stayed ahead.

At 12 kilometers from the finish, the last escapee was caught.

Then the sprinter teams mixed at the front of the pack and no one managed to pull away.

In the inevitable bunch sprint Groenewegen came up strong, but he was too late to pass Philipsen.

#KoolskampKoers - Top 10


Authorlaflammerouge16Moment of places15: 25 - 17 September 2021