Introducing the category of resident player and country-born

33 candidates await the 2020-2021 season awards ceremony at the Emirates Palace tonight

  • Mansour bin Mohammed during his presence at the coronation of the winners of the Professional League awards for the 2018-2019 season.

    Cinematography: Mostafa Qassemi

  • Hassan Talib Al-Marri: "The Association has formed a specialized technical team to select the list of candidates."


Today, at eight in the evening, the 2020-2021 Sports Season Awards Ceremony, which is being held by the Professional League at the Emirates Palace in Abu Dhabi, will be held to reveal the identity of the 33 winners of last season’s awards, including players, coaches, clubs and media platforms, who will be honored. In the upcoming celebration to be held at the Emirates Palace in the capital, Abu Dhabi.

Abdullah Ramadan, Ali Mabkhout (Al Jazeera), and Fabio Lima (Al Wasl), are competing for the Golden Ball award for the best foreign player, while Joao Pedro (Bani Yas), Ryan Mendes (Al Nasr), Tolani are competing for the Golden Ball award for the best foreign player. Cerrero (the island).

The Leader’s Award for the best coach is limited to Romanian Daniel Isila (Bani Yas), Dutch Marcel Kaiser (Al Jazeera), Abdulaziz Al Anbari (Sharjah), and Ali Khaseef (Al Jazeera) and Fahd Al Dhanhani (Bani Yas) compete for the Golden Glove award for best goalkeeper. ), Adel Al Hosani (Sharjah).

Majed Rashid (Ittihad Kalba), Ahmed Al Hammadi (Al Dhafra) and Ali Saleh (Al Wasl), enter the competition for the Golden Boy Award for the best Emirati promising player, while competing for the Golden Boy Award for the best resident player or a native of the country, which was created for the first time in The Sports Season Awards Ceremony, Igor Jesus (Al-Ahly Youth), Ahmed Abu Namous (Bani Yas), and Omar Traoré (Al-Jazeera).

The competition for the award for the best player of the public’s choice was limited to Omar Khribin (Al-Wehda), Fabio Lima (Al-Wasl) and Ismail Matar (Al-Wehda). Nader (Al-Ain) and Ismail Matar (Al-Wahda), while "Sport for All", "Sports Event" and "Action News" are competing for the best digital platform award.

The ceremony will witness the announcement of the winners of the awards, according to the statistics, which are: the dream team, the Golden Boot for the league's top scorer, the Silver Boot for the U-21 top scorer, and the Fantasy Dorina coach award.

As for the award that will be awarded at the ceremony, according to the criteria and not the vote, it is the club licensing award, for the club that meets the criteria specified in the club licensing system, in addition to quality control standards, administrative penalties, cooperation and overall arrangement in all competitions except for the super match, and it will be announced. during the ceremony.

For his part, a member of the Board of Directors of the Professional League and Chairman of the Technical Committee, Hassan Talib Al-Marri, confirmed that the great interaction during the vote to choose the stars of the season, reflects the state of passion and anticipation of the fans in particular, which made the individual competition very close.

He said in a press statement that "the Association formed a specialized technical team to select the main list of candidates, which included the names that topped the statistics and performance during the last season, so that the final list was reduced to only three individuals in the voting categories, according to the choices of the representatives of the clubs themselves (the leader and coach), and the means of The media and the public, in the same way as at the FIFA Awards Ceremony.

The sports season awards ceremony was linked to the end of the 2012-2013 edition, as the first ceremony was held at the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Center, after which the annual ceremony was reproduced in the following seasons, with the exception of the canceled 2019-2020 season, and during its past seasons, the award witnessed the coronation of a number of stars, in addition to honoring the sponsors partners and media organizations.

Voting mechanism

1- 25% for coaches

2- 25% for the captain of each team

3- 25% for media professionals

4- 25% for the masses.

Nomination Criteria

1- Approving the lists of Emirati and foreign players and goalkeepers for those who participated in a maximum of 13 matches.

2- Approval of the list of nominated coaches who have scored at least 50% of the points in 10 matches.

3- Approving the list of promising players who participated in six matches as a minimum, born in 2000 or above.

4- In the event of a tie between the nominated players in the number of points, a point will be deducted for each yellow card, and two points for each red card.

5- In the event of a tie between the coaches nominated for the award, the winner is decided by the number of matches the team won under his leadership, by adding a point for each match won and deducting a point for each penalty or fine issued against the coach.

Follow our latest local and sports news and the latest political and economic developments via Google news