With two women outside the global top thirty and two players who have never been in a Grand Slam final, the final battle of Roland Garros between Barbora Krejcíková and Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova will be an extremely special one on Saturday.

NU.nl lists eight remarkable statistics about this final.



It will be the sixth edition in a row that Roland Garros is the setting for the first Grand Slam title for the winner among the women.

That happened to Garbiñe Muguruza (2016), Jelena Ostapenko (2017), Simona Halep (2018), Ashleigh Barty (2019) and last year Iga Swiatek.



The 25-year-old Krejcíková, currently the number 33 in the world, is only participating in a Grand Slam tournament for the fifth time.

In fact, she was never active at Wimbledon or the US Open.

29-year-old Pavlyuchenkova has more experience in that area: she has already reached the quarterfinals at every Grand Slam.



Pavlyuchenkova (WTA-32) has broken a special record by reaching the Roland Garros final.

She is now the woman who played a Grand Slam most times before reaching the final for the first time (52nd Grand Slam).

Roberta Vinci held that record when she reached the US Open final in her 44th Grand Slam appearance in 2015.



Since the introduction of the WTA ranking, only two women have been lower in the world rankings when they won Roland Garros than Pavlyuchenkova (32) and Krejcíková (33).

Swiatek was the number 54 in the world last year when she was the best in Paris and Ostapenko was 47 in 2017.

The Coupe Suzanne-Lenglen, the cup for the winner of Roland Garros.

The Coupe Suzanne-Lenglen, the cup for the winner of Roland Garros.

Photo: Getty Images

Krejcíková lost in 2017 WTA final to Bertens



Krejcíková is only in the final of a WTA tournament (one title) for the fourth time.

She reached the final battle in Nuremberg in 2017. The Czech then lost to Kiki Bertens.

Pavlyuchenkova plays her 21st WTA final (twelve titles).



Both women, who have never met before, will not yet be in the top ten of the world rankings if they win Roland Garros.

Pavlyuchenkova will rise to 14th place in the WTA ranking.

Krejcíková becomes the new number fifteen in the world with a final victory.



Krejcíková could become the seventh woman in the Open Era (since 1968) to win a Grand Slam while unseeded.

Chris O'Neil (1978, Australian Open), Serena Williams (2007, Australian Open), Kim Clijsters (2009, US Open), Ostapenko (2017, Roland Garros), Sloane Stephens (2017, US Open) and thus Swiatek (2020, Roland Garros).



Pavlyuchenkova of Krejcíková becomes the tenth woman to win at least one major title in the last sixteen Grand Slam tournaments.

The women's final at Roland Garros starts on Saturday at 3 p.m.

For the men, the final battle will be between Novak Djokovic and Stéfanos Tsitsipás on Sunday.