«Super League» earthquake destroys the European Championships map

In a thunderous earthquake that may destroy the map of the continental championships, 12 major European clubs announced, on the night of the day before yesterday, the launch of the "Super League", a special competition intended to compete with the European Champions League, in what appears to be a declaration of war on the European Union of Football (UEFA) which He pledged to punish the clubs and their players.

The clubs said in a statement: “12 of the most important European clubs announced that they had reached an agreement to create a new competition to be run by founding clubs, namely: Milan, Inter and Juventus (Italy), Atlético Madrid, Real Madrid and Barcelona (Spain), Arsenal, Liverpool, Chelsea, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham (England). ) ».

The clubs indicated that three other founding members will be announced, with five other places awarded through a qualification system annually, provided that the inaugural version begins "as soon as practically possible."

The 15 founding members will ensure they qualify each season.

The participating teams will receive 3.5 billion euros (4.19 billion dollars) to support their investment plans and face the challenges of the Coronavirus.

Once confirmed, this figure will provide revenues higher than all European Union competitions (Champions League, Europa League and European Super League) of 3.2 billion euros from TV broadcast revenues for the 2018-2019 season, before the Corona pandemic.

The new format will see the twenty teams divided into two groups of ten, with the first three teams qualifying for each group to the quarter-finals, and the fourth and fifth of each group will play two round-trip matches to join the eight-round.

Follow our latest local and sports news, and the latest political and economic developments via Google news