The team that sends the Athletics Union to the European Indoor Championships in the Polish city of Torun consists of no fewer than 35 athletes: seventeen women and eighteen men.

The Netherlands has also received invitations for the relay teams on the 4x400 meters.

The title fight starts on Thursday evening March 4 and ends on Sunday evening March 7.

World toppers Dafne Schippers and Sifan Hassan are missing from the selection.

The tournament does not fit into their preparation for the Olympic Games in Tokyo.

According to technical director Ad Roskam, the Dutch athletes showed that they are in good shape during the NK indoor in Omnisport Apeldoorn last weekend.

"It soon became clear that the team for Torun will be unprecedented."

"The size of the team is never a goal, it is more important that there is a lot of quality and a number of new faces," said Roskam.

"We can expect a lot of finals and we are seriously competing for the podium."

He is referring to Femke Bol, among others, who set the Dutch record for the 400 meters for the fourth time at the NK and is by far the fastest in Europe this season.

Nadine Visser has a good chance to extend her European title on 60 meters hurdles.

Furthermore, Joris van Gool (60 meters), Lieke Klaver (400 meters).

Liemarvin Bonevacia (400 meters), Tony van Diepen (400 meters), Mike Foppen (3,000 meters) and Maureen Koster (3,000 meters) medal candidates.

Dutch European Championship selection

  • Women: Jamile Samuel, Naomi Sedney (60 meters), Femke Bol, Lieke Klaver, Lisanne de Witte (400 meters), Britt Ummels, Bregje Sloot, Suzanne Voorrips (800 meters), Jip Vastenburg, Maureen Koster (3,000 meters), Nadine Visser, Zoë Sedney (60 meter hurdles), Jessica Schilder (shot put), Nadine Broersen (all-around), Marit Dopheide, Eveline Saalberg, Andrea Bouma (4x400 meter relay)

  • Men: Joris van Gool, Raphael Bouju (60 meters), Liemarvin Bonevacia, Jochem Dobber, Tony van Diepen (400 meters), Thijmen Kupers, Djoao Lobles, Jurgen Wielart (800 meters), Bram Anderiessen, Mahadi Abdi Ali, Valentijn Wienans ( 1,500 meters), Mike Foppen (3,000 meters), Koen Smet (60 meter hurdles), Menno Vloon (pole vault), Pieter Braun, Rik Taam (all-around), Ramsey Angela, Nout Wardenburg (4x400 meter relay)