Gaël Monfils will participate in the ABN AMRO World Tennis Tournament for the tenth time in early March.

The Frenchman will defend his title in Ahoy for the second year in a row.

34-year-old Monfils won the ABN AMRO tournament last year by beating Canadian talent Félix Auger-Aliassime in the final 6-2 and 6-4.

The current number eleven in the world did not lose a single set during the entire tournament.

It was the third time that Monfils reached the final in Rotterdam.

In 2016 he lost in three sets to the Slovak Martin Klizan, but in 2019 the Frenchman took his first title by beating the Swiss Stan Wawrinka.

Monfils could become the first player ever to win the ABN AMRO tournament three times in a row.

Only Roger Federer managed to win the only Dutch ATP tournament three times (2005, 2012 and 2018).

"The ABN AMRO tournament brings out the best in Monfils," said tournament director Richard Krajicek.

"When I see him play in Rotterdam, he always seems even more spectacular than elsewhere. This top athlete has proved unbeatable over the past two years and is an immediate favorite for me for the title."

Monfils will face fierce competition, because it was announced last week that Rafael Nadal will return to Ahoy.

Wawrinka, Kei Nishikori, Daniil Medvedev and Jannik Sinner have also been added to the field.

Registration closes on February 1 and the tournament will be held from March 1 to March 7.

Photo series: Last 12 winners of the ABN AMRO tournament

2009: Andy Murray © ANP

2010: Robin Söderling © ANP

2011: Robin Söderling © ANP

2012: Roger Federer © ANP

2013: Juan Martin Del Potro © ANP

2014: Tomas Berdych © ANP

2015: Stan Wawrinka © ANP

2016: Martin Klizan © ANP

2017: Jo-Wilfried Tsonga © ANP

2018: Roger Federer © Pro Shots

2019: Gaël Monfils © ProShots

2020: Gaël Monfils © ANP