Mathieu van der Poel and Anna van der Breggen were named cyclist and cyclist of the year in Den Bosch on Thursday.

Due to the corona measures, the winners were announced during an online ceremony.

For Van der Poel it is the second time in a row that he has been awarded the Gerrit Schulte Trophy.

The 25-year-old Alpecin-Fenix ​​rider has won the Tour of Flanders, the BinckBank Tour and the national championship on the road.

In cyclocross he won the world title for the third time.

Van der Poel trumped Wilco Kelderman among others with his election.

The Team Sunweb rider finished third in the Giro d'Italia this year.

Track cyclists Harrie Lavreysen, Jeffrey Hoogland and Sam Ligtlee, who all took at least one world title, were the other nominees.

Van der Breggen won both the time trial and the road race at the World Cup in Imola, Italy.

The 30-year-old Boels-Dolmans rider, SD Worx next year, received the Keetie van Oosten-Hage Trophy for the fourth time.

She is the successor of Annemiek van Vleuten.

Van Vleuten was also nominated for the women, as well as Chantal van den Broek-Blaak (winner of the Tour of Flanders), Kirsten Wild (two world titles in track cycling), Marianne Vos (winner of the points classification and three stages in the Giro) and cyclist Ceylin del Carmen Alvarado.

The 21-year-old Alvarado did take off with the Gerrie Knetemann Trophy for the best promise.

The born Mexican settled with Olav Kooij, Ryan Kamp and Thymen Arensman.

Alvarado became world and European cyclocross champion this year.