It was the dream situation:

Julian Alaphilippe, Wout Van Aert and Mathieu Van der Poel

at the head of the race and with enough distance to dispute the victory in the

Tour of Flanders

, one of the five monuments of world cycling.


was on the way to a historic season, even more so than the one he already accumulated: he had won two monuments (

Milan-San Remo and Liège

) and had taken the gold in the

World Cup


An ideal form to win in

Flanders too

... Until a motorcycle crossed his path.

When the three top favorites to the final victory had done the most difficult, escaped

35 kilometers from the finish line

, Van Aert, who was pulling the trio at full speed in the middle of the straight, passed to the left of one of the sworn motorcycles that are in the asphalt.

Necessary, like the motorcycles of the cameras.

Van der Poel, second in the relay, had to make a quick gesture to avoid the collision with the bike, which had braked when it had another vehicle in front of it.

The situation caught Alaphilippe off guard who, covered by his rival and with his left arm on his chest to communicate with his team,

did not react in time to avoid the motorcycle.

He collided head-on with his right arm against her and jumped into the air, falling hard to the ground and sustaining injuries to practically the entire body.

Van der Poel and Van Aert were left in 'shock

', cursing and shaking their heads as they logically continued on their way to the finish line.

According to the criteria of The Trust Project

Know more

  • cycling

Giro d'ItaliaThe surprise of Portuguese Joao Almeida: Can the Giro de rosa finish?

CyclingAlaphilippe, world champion after a suicide attack in Pogacar

Tour de FranceThe endless embrace of 'Matxin' and the ecstasy of Pogacar: "I still can't believe it"

See links of interest

  • Last minute

  • Spanish translator

  • Programming

  • 2020 calendar

  • Movies Today

  • Topics

  • 1. FSV Mainz 05 - Bayer 04 Leverkusen

  • FC Augsburg - RB Leipzig

  • Hertha BSC - VfB Stuttgart

  • Real Madrid - Cádiz

  • Getafe - Barcelona