More than a week after his disqualification from the US Open, Novak Djokovic still regrets hitting a ball against a linesman.

Nevertheless, he does not rule out the possibility that such an incident will occur again.

"It didn't come out of the blue of course," said Djokovic on Monday about his frustration at the US Open.

At the end of the first set in his fourth-round match against Pablo Carreño Busta, he angrily hit a ball, accidentally hitting a linesman in the throat.

The number one in the world was then kicked out of the tournament.

This week, Djokovic is participating in the Rome ATP tournament, his first appearance since his disqualification.

At a press conference in the Italian capital, the Serb could not promise that it would be the last time he misbehaved on the track.

"I cannot guarantee that I will not go wrong in a similar way in my life. Of course I will do my best, but everything is possible in life," said Djokovic.

Djokovic had to give up his earned prize money of $ 250,000 (210,000 euros) and was also fined 9,000 euros.

"The rules are very clear," said the 31-year-old tennis player.

"I have to accept this punishment and continue. That's what I want to do here in Italy."

Djokovic has a bye for the first round in Rome and then plays against the winner of the match between Tennys Sandgren and Salvatore Caruso.