According to, the tournament will begin with a qualifying round with 16 teams (the series will go up to three wins) and a group round to determine seeding in the playoffs among the four best teams from each conference.

In each series, after the qualification round, the team with the highest sowing will play with the team with the lowest sowing, the second team will meet the penultimate and so on.

Qualification round and group tournament will be held in two cities that are not yet defined. 

Malkin previously praised Dziuba's hockey skills.