A decade or more and the best record in soccer history between Argentine Lionel Messi and Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo continues and rages at times.

Although the two stars have reached the end of their football career, the former stars of the game - including Alan Shearer and Ian Wright, the two former stars of the English football - still disagree over who deserves the first place.

This time, the contest was over the best players who won the golden ball to be awarded to the best player in the world. Since 1956, the award granted by France Football magazine won 18 different players, including only two of the English Premier League are Michael Owen (2001) and Ronaldo ( 2008).

However, legends in the game and great names raised this prestigious award, and most of them were on Shearer and Wright's list of two now working mathematical analysts.

Ian Wright's list:

10- Italian Roberto Baggio (won the award in 1993)

9 - Portuguese Luis Figo (won the award in 2000)

8- Brazilian Rivaldo (won the award in 1999)

7- Brazilian Kaka (won the award in 2007)

6- Dutchman Marco van Basten (won the award in 1992)

5- French Zinedine Zidane (won the award in 1998)

4- Brazilian Ronaldinho (won the award in 2005)

3- Brazilian Ronaldo (won the award twice 1997 and 2002)

2- Argentine Messi (won the award six times, most recently in 2019)

1- Ronaldo (won the award five times, the last of which was in 2017)

Alan Shearer's List:

10- Baguio

9- Rivaldo

8- Figo

7- Kaka

6- Ronaldinho

5- Van Basten

4- Zidan

3- Brazilian Ronaldo

2- The Portuguese Ronaldo

1- Messi