Teller Report

Now you can see non-English news...

Was the hand inside or outside the area? The controversial move that left Spain without World Cup

2019-12-15T14:28:14.846Z

A play to win a World Cup. There were 20 seconds left, the score showed a draw at 29 goals and Spain had the ball. The idea of ​​coach Carlos Viver was simple: he



A play to win a World Cup. There were 20 seconds left, the score showed a draw at 29 goals and Spain had the ball. The idea of ​​coach Carlos Viver was simple: it would be played by 'Shandy' Barbosa . The side had been the best pitcher of the national team throughout the tournament and, from the outside, was the most experienced with Nerea Pena . But everything went wrong. The Dutch defense blocked the launch of Barbosa, the ball fell in the area of ​​goalkeeper Tess Wester and quickly sought the counterattack of his. There came the mess.

In the Wester goal kick he found himself facing the pivot Ainhoa ​​Hernández , who with a jump blocked his intentions. At first Barbosa picked up the ball and even put together another pitch, but soon French referees Julie and Charlotte Bonaventura slowed their momentum. Among the protests of Dutch coach Emmanuel Mayonnade , the Bonaventura punished Hernández's action harshly: a red card and a penalty in favor of the Netherlands that transformed Lois Abbingh to take the World Cup.

The Spanish players and their coach barely discussed the sanction, but soon began doubts about what happened. Why was Hernández's play punished that way? Ion Bustamente explains it, an international category referee, usual in the Champions League and the Spanish League: "The colleges have interpreted that Hernández's blocking has not allowed the ball to cross the area line. The rule indicates that, in a throw-in goal, the rivals must allow the ball to leave the area and that is why a vertical must be thrown in. If the ball comes out completely, it is legal blocking.If it does not cross that vertical, in the last 30 seconds of the match it is effectively indicated red and seven meters. "

At the time of the jump, Hernandez's feet were out of the area, but his arms, and especially the hand that plugged Wester's serve, could be inside the area. The decision in any case depended on a few centimeters impossible to appreciate without the use of technology and the Bonaventura could not use it to reaffirm or correct itself. In this Women's World Cup in Japan, the International Federation did not provide the Instant Replay to the members, although it had done so in previous men's and women's championships.

According to the criteria of The Trust Project

Know more

Source: elmuldo

You may like

Sports 2019-09-08T20:59:04.487Z

Trends 24h

Latest

sports 2020/01/27    

© Communities 2019 - Privacy