Leo Messi won his sixth Golden Ball yesterday at a gala held in Paris . The FC Barcelona forward beat Liverpool's Virgil Van Dijk central and Cristiano Ronaldo in the final vote, who completed the podium ahead of the attacker 'red' Sadio Mané .

Today we have been able to know the total votes and elections of each country, with some surprising results. The most 'original', so to speak, was the Sri Lankan journalist, whose podium was formed by Liverpool side Alexander-Arnold , Arsenal striker Aubameyang and Antoine Griezmann . In fourth position he selected Lewandowski and fifth to Ter Stegen . No sign of the final podium of the vote: Neither Messi, nor Van Dijk, nor Ronaldo.

Another of the 'originals', although somewhat less than Sri Lanka, was Ivory Coast , which chose Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson , also winner of the Yashin trophy for the best goalkeeper of the year. In second position Mané and third Mahrez , the midfielder of Manchester CIty.

As for the most important countries in the world of football, Argentina and Brazil chose Messi, Germany to Lewandowski, England, Italy and Spain to Van Dijk, France to Mané and Portugal to Cristiano Ronaldo.

Argentina (ESPN): Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Agüero.

Brazil (TV Globo): Messi, Mané, Van Dijk

Germany (Kicker): Lewandowski, Mané, Van Dijk

England (The Times): Van Dijk, Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo

France (France Football): Mané, Messi, Van Dijk.

Italy (Sky Sport): Van Dijk, De Jong, Cristiano Ronaldo

Portugal (SIC): Cristiano Ronaldo, Mané, Messi

Spain (AS): Van Dijk, Cristaino Ronaldo, Messi

According to the criteria of The Trust Project

Know more

  • Brazil
  • Argentina
  • Germany
  • Sri Lanka
  • Italy
  • Paris
  • Leo Messi
  • FC Barcelona
  • Antoine Griezmann
  • sports
  • soccer

LaLigaTer Stegen, the 'black spider' of Barcelona

SoccerWrinkle of the Golden Ball: Messi and the old demon Matthews

ChampionsHeroico Ajax draw in London after playing 20 minutes with nine players